EI Advisory Committee

The EI Advisory Committee supports the initiative in the following areas:

  • Policy – identifying, prioritizing and understanding policy issues needed to advance EI in alignment with the institution’s mission and values
  • Engagement – facilitating broad campus participation and involvement of faculty, staff and students
  • Direction and success – determining the strategic direction and progress of EI

The committee consists of 4 faculty members, 2 academic staff, 2 members or designees from the Associated Students of Madison (ASM), 3 University Council on Academic Affairs and Assessment (UCAAA) representatives, and 2 non-voting, ex-officio chairs.

EI Advisory Committee Members


  • Steve Cramer, Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning, EI Co-sponsor
  • Jeff Russell, Vice Provost for Lifelong Learning, Dean of Continuing Studies, and EI Co-sponsor


  • Catherine Arnott Smith, Professor, Information School, College of Letters & Science
  • Mark Fedenia, Associate Professor, Dept. of Finance, Wisconsin School of Business
  • Edwin “Ned” Sibert, Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, College of Letters & Science
  • Lyn Van Swol, Professor, Dept. of Communication Arts, College of Letters & Science
  • Barry VanVeen, Professor, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering

Academic Staff

  • Shirin Malekpour, Associate Dean, College of Letters & Sciences
  • Beth Martin, Professor (CHS), Assistant Dean for Assessment, Teaching and Learning, School of Pharmacy


  • TBD


  • Mo Bischof, Associate Vice Provost, Office of the Provost
  • Carolyn Kelley, Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Programs, School of Education